Weekend Links

Found this series of videos of formerly homeschooled high school kids. I love that the kids mention all the things about homeschooling that my kids love too including ability to work at their own pace and co-ops among other things. One thing that stands out though is that, for the most part, these kids appear to be children of privilege who would almost always do well regardless of the educational path set before them.

And from the NY Times: When is a Child Ready for Kindergarten? Some excellent letters to the editor regarding this piece.

What curricula will you use next year?

“Just talking about success makes us want to be successful,” said Everett Spraggs, 10. Great quote from this article.

When Teachers Talk Out of School Somewhat related: When Robin was in fourth grade, his teacher would the class that she was leaving early to go to Vegas with her friends or that she just bought a new condo. Oversharing much?

About treesalldance

Inquisitive mama of four and maker of things. Jane of all trades, mistress of none. I love reading, knitting, and gardening.
This entry was posted in education, homeschool, on race, weekend links and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Links

  1. Anna says:

    I think there’s a fine line between teachers who want to share a little piece of their real lives with their students and those that tell a little too much. So far I haven’t had to deal with anything like that but I’m sure they’ll come a time when I will. I mean kids have to realize that teachers are people too and as long as it’s not intimate personal details, I’m fine with it. I read that article and I can’t believe there were teachers stupid enough to write horrible things about their students on facebook and their blogs. sick

  2. janelle says:

    I haven’t mentioned this “live” on my blog yet, but I plan on homeschooling my son, Rocket, for kindergarten starting in the fall. Translation: I shall be bothering you for help. Hopefully you won’t mind too much. :)

    I looked over the “what curricula” are you using and I felt that all-too-familiar “oh SHIT” feeling. I’m clueless.
    And the kindergartener thing? SO TRUE. My little man is just now beginning to show even a vague interest in letters…he’ll be 6 in September. One of the reasons I’m homeschooling him.

  3. janelle says:

    P.S. please excuse the arbitrary placement of quotation marks. clearly, I’m tired. well that’s my excuse at least. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

