School’s out!

The kids finished testing last week. While it didn’t go as badly as I imagined it would, it could have been better. Wren seemed to forget how to add and subtract during the math computation portion of her exam and Robin added fractions incorrectly during his. Of course. I blame Everyday Math. Kidding. Anyway, it’s out of my hands now, the tests will be mailed back for scoring this week and then we’ll just just have wait and see.

And with that done, we are all ready for summer. Some of the kids’ activities are winding down (Girl Scouts and dance), and others are just beginning (robotics class, camps). I felt like I won the lottery last week when I got a slot for Robin at Apple Camp! I don’t really enjoy schlepping the kids from place to place, but things could be worse. Trying to decide what we should participate in and how many trips we can take this summer are some pretty good problems to have.

About treesalldance

Inquisitive mama of four and maker of things. Jane of all trades, mistress of none. I love reading, knitting, and gardening.
This entry was posted in homeschool, kids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to School’s out!

  1. Stephanie says:

    I loved everyday math when I was teaching. Um, and on the subject of the summer schedule… I’m trying to figure out my major malfunction . I have a serious mental block about actually sitting down with my calendar and looking over the next three months. I know this is going to come back to haunt me.

    • Stephanie, this is the first year I’ve really been on top of the summer schedule. I’m glad b/c usually mid-way through summer, I’m going nuts trying to figure out what to do with everyone.

  2. Yvonne says:

    My daughter does the same thing when it comes to testing. I’m still struggling to find cool things for my kiddos to do this summer. Swim class and dance so far. Hope you guys have a great summer!

  3. Angela says:

    Congrats on your school year. I hate testing-makes me nutso. We have swim class for a few weeks this year and two weeks of tennis for Elijah. That’s about it for us. I am thinking of having a baking day, science experiment day, etc. when we take a few miniutes of the day to bake, do an experiment, etc. We’ll have to see how this works.
    It looks like Robin will enjoy Apple camp. Btw, that is such a cool name-Robin.

    • Thanks! Tennis sounds like fun. We considered lessons, but the kids said they’d rather I teach them. I’m a little, ahem, rusty. I like your weekly rhythm…I may have to borrow.that idea.

  4. Anna says:

    Robotics class and Apple camp? Awesome!!! Sounds like a fun summer planned. I’m in that same position of carting the kids all over the place but so excited for them to get to do such fun stuff.

  5. Terri says:

    Congrats on finishing the school year and testing. Those camps sound wonderful. We’re just running around doing all the free stuff that pops up in town..family-friendly live music, art projects at one of the museums, swimming, etc. Whatever you all decide to get into, enjoy your summer!

  6. stefanie says:

    apple camp! robotics camp! since you’re already schlepping, can i just stow away with you guys?

Leave a Reply

