Thrift store regrets

You know how some people have buyer’s remorse? Well after visiting my favorite local thrift stores, I usually have buyer’s regret. If I had a dollar for every beautiful piece of furniture or cool dress that I’ve left behind, I’d probably have enough money to buy one of those cool dresses and get it cleaned and tailored. I even have a dress in mind.

buffalo gals, won't you come out tonight?

It’s that lovely buffalo plaid number. It just jumped out at me on the rack and I flirted with the idea of wearing it. I pictured hub or one of the kids snapping shots while I twirled around my garden, hoping for the perfect instagram shot. Sadly, it would’ve needed some work and honestly, I wasn’t sure I’d be brave enough to wear it out. Still, it was something unusual, and I liked that.

vanity fair

My dream bedroom has enough space for a velvet fainting couch, luxurious linens, and my (imaginary at the moment) feather boa trim robe. Yes, my dream bedroom is in the 1930s. So, every time I come across a vanity, I squeal a little bit inside, and try to think of a way I could rearrange my bedroom furniture to accommodate  it. This one is a little plain, but I could work it!

with a chairy on top

I have an addiction that few people know about. Its gotten better in recent years, but when I see groups like the one above, my chair buying habit kicks into overtime. I have an overflow chair stash on my patio and I know one day my kids will get tired of tripping over chair legs and hub will ask me to cull my stash. Unfortunately (depending on who you ask), I’ve run out of room for chairs and so, all I took home from the Habitat ReStore that day was a picture. Womp, womp.

Tell me, have you ever experienced buyer’s regret?

About treesalldance

Inquisitive mama of four and maker of things. Jane of all trades, mistress of none. I love reading, knitting, and gardening.
This entry was posted in thrifted and found and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thrift store regrets

  1. glossedmimi says:

    I have a thing for chairs too! I have so many in here that I had grand plans of painting and such and they are still sitting. I have little rocking chairs, kindergarten classroom chairs. One day I will do something with them.

    Yessss to this velvet fainting couch! Don’t let that one get a way when you see it!

Leave a Reply

