A new new year

In years past, I’ve resolved to drink more, be more selfish, and become a meaner person. While the drinking and meanness haven’t worked out for me, being a bit more selfish actually has. This year as with last, I resolve to pick up new skills. In the week plus since 2014 arrived, I’ve signed up for two new tech skills classes, a 5k, and worked daily on improving my French.

No snow for us, so we made our own.
I’m already an excellent play-doh maker.

Way back in ’95 or ’96 when I first got online (shoutout to AOL chatrooms!), a popular thing to do was to build websites. At the time, I had a boyfriend who was into that and so, I started to learn html. It was fascinating, the way I could decorate my little geocities site and make flames, colored text and photos appear with just a bit of code. I maintained basic coding skills for some time, and I even built and maintained one of my (many) old blogs myself. Eventually, I moved on, but there’s always been a teeny tiny part of me that fantasizes about being a ’90s era hackers. So when I saw a link recently to Code Academy, I thought, why not? And now, I’m going to have the best blazing text geocities style website ever built. I know, you’re jealous. Problem easily solved though, b/c Code Academy can teach you too.

I was cruising facebook, as one does, when I spotted an ad for Color Me Rad. I’d seen plenty of pictures from these events over the past few years and always thought it looked like a cute thing to do. I’m no runner. I did have a period last summer when I worked out including biking or running every single day, and guess what? Running never became enjoyable. Me no likey. At all. In spite of that fact, when I saw that a race was to be held in my city on my birthday, I found myself signing with just the slightest nudge from L (“whatever you want to do, yo”) and my bff (“yaaaaaaas!”). I haven’t decided if I’ll actually run or if I’ll just walk but either way, it better be it’s going to be fun.

Three of my cousins decided to get married this year. In three different countries! One of them is my only cousin on my dad’s side. I’m making a big effort to be there b/c my grandmother, Fifi (most french nickname ever??) will be there and I haven’t seen her in over 30 years. How does that happen? Long story. Anyway, she doesn’t speak English, and my French is laughable. I would love to be able to communicate with her without too much help from bilingual family members. Duolingo is helping me get there, I hope.

Any plans to learn new skills this year? And am I the only one who hears this Aaliyah song play in their head any time they hear the word resolution? Hm.

About treesalldance

Inquisitive mama of four and maker of things. Jane of all trades, mistress of none. I love reading, knitting, and gardening.
This entry was posted in education, friends and family, trees all dance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new new year

  1. quirknjive says:

    Okay. You’ve inspired me. My mother-in-law is coming from Italy this summer to spend a month with us. I will study Italian. I should…right? Good luck with your French and 5K and tech classes!!!

Leave a Reply

