May 29

Our school year is winding down and while we won’t stop completely over the summer, the kids’ workload will drastically decrease. I can’t believe we’ve made it through an entire school year! At this time last year, I was willing, but petrified to make the leap to homeschooling. The confidence I have in what we are doing ebbs and flows mainly because I am still somewhat stuck in “test as proof of progress” mode. I just ordered our end of year tests and my worst fear is that the kids will not do well. That would result in us being put on “homeschool probation”. The source of the fear is math. The kids’ lack of true mastery of mathematics was one of the main reasons we decided to homeschool, and so I’ve spent the past 6 months making sure they really understand the material we use. They’ve done well on chapter tests and cumulative reviews, but we are still playing catch up and probably will be for a while longer.

I always say I wish more homeschoolers would talk about these feelings. I can’t be the only one questioning if I’m doing enough and if it’s the right thing. In fact, I think questions serve a great purpose as a sort of self evaluation, if you will. I recently read a comment where someone said that homeschoolers are afraid to say anything negative about HSing b/c when you’re a part of a small community that is already seen as “other”, you don’t want to give critics more ammunition. I understand this, but it’s not helpful. I think in order to truly understand and be good at something, you have to consider and talk about all sides. ย And that’s what I aim to do.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in homeschool, trees all dance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to May 29

  1. Anayah says:

    You know, I’ve never heard of homeschoolers talk about end of year testing frustrations so I’ve never really thought about the anxiety the moment could bring. I hope it all turns out for the better!

  2. Angela says:

    Wishing you and your littles luck and good testing juju. They sound so brilliant. I am sure all will be well!
    Oh and thanks for sharing your “nerves” with us. I wish I heard more about that part of the journey too!

  3. Anna says:

    That’s a fear of any parent is that we’re just not doing it right. Even after we’ve amassed an army of kids and learned so much over the years, there are triumphs and lots of questions if we are doing right by them. I’m betting your kids will do just fine. I think what you do is awesome and I hope you post later and let us know how it all goes.

  4. janelle says:

    Howdy! Found your blog through my blog…love it! I am so impressed that you homeschool your four kids. I’m embarking soon on homeschooling my son…I haven’t mentioned it publicly on my blog yet, but I will! And I fully agree that with you about airing the truth – fear of what others will say (giving them ammo) is just handing more power over to the critics. Forget ’em.

    Anyway, I know I’ll be scared to death and you and I can definitely commiserate. ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers.

Leave a Reply

