Year end curricula reviews: What didn’t work

My Book Of Numbers 1-30 Finch learned his numbers more organically and his handwriting skills are not as developed as his reading skills, so this was a bust.

Maybe I might’ve liked Handwriting Without Tears better if I purchased the teacher’s manual and related accessories? Anyway, I don’t like the style of writing and found that the books didn’t offer enough practice for Finch and Wren.

Finch and I felt that Explode the Code was uber boring. Seriously, we stopped after a few pages b/c it was so dull.

I want to be the kind of person who can use something like Family Math but I’m not. I can’t take an activity out of a book that way and make it come alive. Plus, my kids know when they’re being played. Maybe it’s my unusual, “hey, I know, let’s play a fun new game!!!” tone or something that tips them off…

Spelling Workout was too easy for Robin (a natural speller) and Wren, so I decided to go with the “look it up, Dear” approach.

I read about Vocabulary Power Grade K on another blog. I didn’t find it helpful at all. I also found the illustrations were a distraction for Finch as he would just guess what was happening in each picture instead of reading the accompanying sentences.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in homeschool, review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Year end curricula reviews: What didn’t work

  1. Terri says:

    I agree, Explode the Code is super dry. Even the online version is annoying.

    Never tried any of the others you used. Thought about Spelling Workout but I have a natural speller so I went with something for an independent learner in that subject. We didn’t boter with any formal handwriting curriculum. I thought I’d let that develop naturally and it has. He’s got good penmanship. I’m still debating on one for cursive or D’nealian though. Your thoughts?

    Have you looked at Wordly Wise for vocabulary? There’s a an online version as well.

  2. mykidzmomnow says:

    I agree on ALL of these! Of course, we use Spell to Write Read ONLY for phonogram training. I let the kids learn to read on their own. And we use Saxon, but, uh, well, let’s just say “use” is a liberal term. I don’t take directions from strangers too well. 😉

    What a fun way to share what you learned about your lessons this year!

  3. Angela Shenk says:

    Wow mama you do a lot of great work with your kiddos. My eldest used Explode the Code in school. He has autism. I don’t know if he liked it or not. It helped him due to the way his brain operates. I do know what you mean about dull. man there is so much to consider when homeschooling. I think you are doing an awesome job!

Leave a Reply

