Weekend Links

10 Skills Every Student Should Learn

Poor Teaching for Poor Children A solid yet simple explanation about the disparities in American education and what’s working.

The McEducation of the Negro This was linked from Alfie Kohn’s article above. I relate to the parent quoted in the article. Even though my children attended predominantly white, “middle class” schools, I’ve always gotten the feeling that their true knowledge/grasp of any given school subject was quite shallow. In fact, another night of homework about which my kid seemed to be clueless was the straw that broke the camel’s back and pushed us to homeschooling. So, of course, I’m sending them back for another round. Brilliant.

By No Child Left Behind standards, the majority of Virginia schools are failing.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in education, on my doorstep, on race, weekend links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Links

  1. Loving all your education links, Dee! I hope you don’t mind, I’m going to pass your blog along to my husband. He’s always looking for good education topics.

Leave a Reply

