Wah, wah, wah

prospect park west
Mommy, I need $100 to help save the formerly beached whales.

My mother thinks I’m a parental whiner and that I should quit. With fall on the way, we are returning to our “regular” schedule including school and activities. This week, I’m going to doctor’s appointments, dropping off paperwork, buying gear and supplies and attending open houses and orientations. I complain constantly about a few things:

  1. Facetime that could really just be an email. People, it’s time to digitize. I am sure you could easily upload a map of the school and send us PTA info the same way. I really don’t need to spend two hours sitting in a small chair trying to look interested in a sheet of paper while I’m really tweeting. I feel the same way about this that Janelle feels about professors needing to hold the hands of grad students the first day.
  2. Saturdays. This year, I am trying to ensure that the kids don’t participate in any activities that require me to get up early on Saturday mornings and hope for rain. Why should I never be able to sleep in on the weekend again just b/c I have kiddos?!
  3. Surprise financial needs. I should just keep a cash drawer for all the little things that pop up with school that the kids have to have/pay for. Can’t the school just send a list of expenses at the beginning of the year and I just write out a check or make payments? Note to self: suggest idea to the PTA.

Is there anything about parenting that makes you want to wall slide?

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in kids, parenting, school and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wah, wah, wah

  1. You are too funny! School time harshes my mellow for just these reasons. Why the Facetime?! Ugh. You should see some of the PTA scrapping that goes on. I am not even a member either. Luckily our school has us pay for field trips up front at the beginning of the year and the forms have gotten a little easier. Thanks goodness. I know what you mean-open house, walk through, curriculum night. Ugh.
    I definitely need to stroke the furry wall at the beginning of the school year.
    xo,
    Ang

Leave a Reply

