Weekend Links

Do Black Children Need Black Teachers? I thought about it and realized that between my catholic schools in St. Lucia and New York, I didn’t have a single white teacher until 7th grade, in public school! Even in high school, most of my teachers were minorities. I’m sure that had an effect on the way I see education.

A Teacher Finds Good in Testing

In Honor of Teachers

Which School Reforms Will Work Best?

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in education, on race, weekend links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Links

  1. That is a very interesting perspective!

  2. stefanie says:

    I thought that first article was going to take a broader approach than just test scores, harrumph. There seem to be a lot more possible reasons that black (or any minority, for that matter) students could benefit from having teachers who look like them. At the high school where my partner teaches, the MEChA adviser is white (and non-Spanish-speaking, to boot) and the queer/straight alliance club adviser is VERY straight, both of which reeeallly rub me the wrong way. I can’t put my finger on exactly why, because I obviously believe that establishing allies is necessary. Maybe I’m just uncomfortable with all the “authorities” being white/straight/dudes. Yeah, probably.

Leave a Reply

