Where we are

Third week of school and we’re doing just fine. There have been a few issues, but I’ve decided to cool it and choose my battles. The kids are all thriving and already this feels so much different than last fall. Maybe it’s the new schools. Maybe it’s my new attitude. Probably a combination of the two. The kids have stopped saying they wished they were still homeschooled, and started to tell me about the friends they’ve made on the bus. Robin attended his first dance and is now playing the flute. I think the pace of middle school, and the scheduling they use (block scheduling) suit him well. Wren, ever the diligent student, is moving ahead at full speed, completing projects as soon as they’re given to her. So unlike her mother. 😉 Finch has been the most ambivalent, having the least experience with public school (6 weeks of Kindergarten), but he’s trotting along, even though he thinks it’s silly that he needs permission to use the bathroom or throw away his lunch trash. Everyday Math is still a pain, but homework hasn’t been much of an issue so far. My older kids are becoming more independent and rely on me less for help, so I am sure that has eased the stress I once felt after school. I am still trying to find my evening rhythm. It’s hard for me to pull the kids in from playing with their friends, but I know that our evenings need some structure in order to make our mornings flow. My own school year is in full swing and I’m glad I decided not to take more classes. We have a minimal amount of weekday extracurricular activities and as a result, I don’t feel as hurried or harried and that’s a good thing.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in kids, school. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where we are

  1. Anna says:

    I’m so glad to hear everyone is in the swing of things. Lucas struggles with some of the rules which to him seem silly. 😉 I hope they enjoy their new friends and get the best experience possible out of it all.

  2. Tanashia says:

    Glad things are going well for you all.

  3. Glad things are going well. Did you guys switch from the last schools they attended?
    Evening rhythm can be so tricky. I try to get them to do their homework first thing (w/a snack and outside if possible) and then play. I may switch (if they want) when it starts getting dark so quickly or maybe not. So glad things are humming right along!

    • Angela, we did. Robin moved to middle school and the younger kids now attend our neighborhood school. We always do snack, homework, outside, but I like your idea of changing it up as we lose daylight!

Leave a Reply

