Martinmas

It seems the longer I stay away, the less I have to say. I don’t consider myself to ever be a busy person, but our lives our quite full right now. Five of us attend school, and each of us has our own work and play to attend to, besides. I am spending all the time I can working with my hands or exploring things that are important to me at the moment. Family, friends, and faith. Or lack thereof.  It’s what feels right. I’m sure you understand.

knead

Today, we celebrate Martinmas for the first time. We will take a lanternwalk and drink hot apple cider, among other things. Wren walked in a Veteran’s Day parade today with her Girl Scout troop. St. Martin of Tours is the patron saint of soldiers. Did you know that I was an Army wife for 7 years and am married to a disabled veteran?

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in feasts and festivals, trees all dance, waldorf inspired and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Martinmas

  1. barefootnmama says:

    Sounds like lot’s of fun!!

  2. Angela says:

    One day I swear I’ll take a latern walk. Each year something crazy seems to happen.
    I totally get it. Your life sounds wonderfully full.
    xo,
    Ang

  3. Martha says:

    Veteran’s day is special to me, too, as my husband was in the Army for 5 years. We lived on-post at Fort Stewart, Georgia. Rob went to Iraq twice (in 2003 and again in 2005)…so glad he’s home and blessed that he was unharmed. Martinmas sounds like a neat celebration! What did you make? Bread or croissants with almonds?

  4. Pingback: Three years ago today | trees all dance

Leave a Reply

