Year’s End

The months from September to December encompass my favorite time of year. Everything from my wedding anniversary to Lark’s birthday occur as the weather cools and daylight recedes. Needless to say, it’s quite a festive time for us. I decided, once I had children, to make an effort to give them magical childhoods. You see, my kiddos enjoy all the wonder that comes with the Easter Bunny (Daddy met him on the subway), Tooth Fairy (on speed dial), and the like, in spite of their skeptic mother. I thought about one of our seasonal traditions, the “Advent Activity Box” while reading Darcel’s post today. It’s a small, red, snowflake covered box which contains envelopes with daily activities for us to do leading up till Christmas. These include things like ice skating, dressing up for dinner, and making hot chocolate. I go through the box every year, a few days before December starts. This is so I can make sure we’ll actually be able to incorporate the activity on a given day, with minimal stress to our normal routine. Nothing is set in stone, however, and we’ve been known to switch days around to suit our mood. Do you have any traditions surrounding this time of year?


Lark, during one of our “rare” snows last December. It’s snowed every winter in the 3 years we’ve lived here though. Hm.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in feasts and festivals, holiday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Year’s End

  1. I’ve been meaning to start the Advent tradition, but December 1st always sneaks up on me!

  2. Anna says:

    I loooooove this idea! I’ve never heard of the Advent Activity box but I think it’s so fantastic. We’ll have to do one for next year.

  3. Darcel says:

    Thanks for sharing your Advent activities with us. Later today we’re supposed to make icicles out of beads to hang on the tree.

Leave a Reply

