St. Nicholas Day, and homeschool

Lark and I attended a Waldorf inspired St. Nicholas Day celebration today. What a treat! There was food, a walk in the woods (complete with making pinecone bird feeders in said woods), and a St. Nick story for the kiddos. It’s nice to be with people who enjoy the same things, enabling me to be able to relax and just have a good time. The older kids will hear a St. Nicholas story tonight, and put a shoe out in hopes of being treated!


We made this one last year.

The kids are still doing pretty well in school. Despite the fun they’re having in class, on trips, and with other school related activities, they still ask to be homeschooled at least once a week! Who knew it would have such an impact? I mean, duh, but like I told a friend, the 2010-2011 school year will now be known as The Year We Homeschooled. Finch misses taking lots of field trips (and not being subjected to the behavior of other 6 y/os, hehe) and Wren misses being on her own schedule (she’s not really a morning person). As for me, I feel exhausted just remembering last year, and sometimes I wonder how we all managed to get through it in one piece! Robin misses it too, but he’s the most outgoing of my kids and truly enjoys spending time with others (at school). He goes to school early when he can, and stays afterward for activities. I’m really glad for him. I feel especially happy that we live in a district which has great resources. It really shows in the school he attends, I think. Anyway, he’s ill this evening, and missing his first ever band concert (he plays flute), so I’m going to go tend to my boy and try to cheer him up.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in feasts and festivals, homeschool, kids, school, seasons, waldorf inspired and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to St. Nicholas Day, and homeschool

  1. Angela says:

    That sounds absolutely lovely. I fear my days of Santa and St. Nicholas may be numbered in the traditional sense as the 7 year olds are asking more and ,more questions!

    • Angela, the six y/o straight up told me he’s in it for the gifts. But I think he’s really a believer. They all are! DD was up before 7 this morning to check her shoe for St. Nick’s gifts.

  2. Anna says:

    You have such a good mindset about all of it I think. It’s great the kids still bring it up because it means that one year you know they did enjoy and get something out of it. But they’ve obviously still moved on enough to enjoy their new situation too. You have some great kids. 🙂

  3. I hope he feels better soon. Sounds like your outing was a success and lots of fun. I need to get to the library and pick up several books. Can you believe we only have one Christmas book in the house?

    • Thanks, Darcel, I think he’s on the mend. Only one Christmas book? That’s practically illegal. Yes, get as many as you can from the library. I saw that one of the libraries is having an origami star making class tomorrow evening. Already have plans or we would go, for sure.

Leave a Reply

