All wet

The kids had the day off Friday (and it was raining cats and dogs), so we headed over to the Virginia MOCA.

It’s our favorite local museum and the one we visit most frequently. The kids loved the new ARTlab and again, I felt thankful to live in a place with easy access to the arts.

Going from New York to small town Texas involved some culture shock , to say the least, and moments like these make me realize how much I missed easy access to the ballet, museums, and the like. Anyway, back to the MOCA, they have a photography class that I would love to attend. Hopefully some day soon, I can find the time to make that happen!

Saturday found me doing some projects I’ve had on the back burner for a while. I finally made dishwasher detergent using Nici’s recipe and now I feel complete. O.K., not quite, but that was the last household product around here that wasn’t homemade. I’m trying to do better at taking care of my hair and letting it grow rather than getting bored and cutting it off every few years like I normally do so I also made my own version of the ever popular (for natural hair) whipped shea butter.

The consistency of the finished product makes it perfect for use on hair and skin. Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup room temperature shea butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  •  1/4 cup sweet almond oil (or substitute another favorite oil)
  •  1 tbsp vitamin E
  • a few drops of your favorite essential oil, if you like

Combine items in a bowl and beat (I used a handmixer) till fluffy. Super simple!

Aside from a quick trip to pick up an old toy jeep from an acquaintance, Sunday was a major cleaning day. We were on a roll with the laundry, until my machine decided to stop working during the spin cycle. I can’t tell you how much fun it was to remove heavy, wet clothes, and wring them out by hand. The machine is still full of water while I figure out if to get an extended warranty or just call a technician. This is the second month in a row this thing has had issues! My last machine, I had for 6 years with no problem and it wasn’t even  new when I purchased it. Ugh.

{weekending}

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in on my doorstep, weekending and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All wet

  1. Angela says:

    Loving that shea butter. I know what you mean about access. I have been where there is not much access to stuff and it wasn’t cute. What kind of machine do you have? Is it a front loader? Ours stopped working on the spin cycle once b/c a string from a cheap bathroom rug got caught around the motor. Luckily we were able to fix it ourselves. Things are just made to be obsolete these days.
    Good luck and thanks for the recipes!

    • I have a top loader and am going to spend some time today trying to figure out what the problem might be. As soon as I dump all the water out. *sigh* I do suspect something may be stuck or caught. somewhere. We’ll see..

  2. i always put off projects too and then finally get around to it and end up wondering why i had put it off so long 😉 so glad you made your detergent and hair butter – feels good to not spend $$ on such things!

  3. Darcel says:

    We loved that museum today…..looking forward to going back. I also want to make my own hair butter. I have several recipes to try. I like the way yours looks, so think I’ll try that one first 🙂
    That sucks about your washing machine. I know what it’s like to have to wring out soaking wet clothes. Hope you can get it fixed soon!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Where did you source the shea butter. I feel like that’s the key to keeping cost down and I haven’t figured it out yet.

    • I believe my mom got it from a street vendor in New York. This is not unrefined, organic, or fair trade. *gasp* Hehe. I know beauty supply shops and our natural/health food stores carry it, too.

Leave a Reply

