Simple


all we need to have a good time is a cardboard box! (it’s kinda true)

I’m in love with the idea of a simple life, a minimal life, an ascetic life. Sadly (luckily?happily? unfortunately?) the folks I live with aren’t with it. I read Simplicity Parenting and scoffed*. Seriously, I was just going to make 11 years worth of toys disappear and my kids would go for it? That’s not to say I don’t like the idea, I just think it would be easier to implicate with younger (non pack-rat) kiddos. And so, I’ve started with the babe. Over the weekend, I whittled her available toys down to her favorites which can fit into this bin. Her silks, a few dolls, and her toy animal collection is in there. The rest are put away and I’ve schedule regular rotation via my google calendar which is the only way anything gets done around here. She also has just 5 board books available on the table where we keep our 6 favorite fairytale and fable books. I have to say, I’ve already noticed her drawn to the books time and time again because there aren’t so many now. Surprisingly, when Finch saw what I was doing, he asked if we could do the same with his things. And so, I have set aside some time to comply with his request.

*Great post on this subject here.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in books, kids, waldorf inspired and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Simple

  1. Angela says:

    This is awesome. I love that book. We have been paring down for a while. There are loads of toys in the basement packed away. I do have one that loves to keep all of his stuff so I have to tread lightly there. It’s so much better when there is less out because they can see what they have and cherish it. I do wish I could keep stuff from coming in the house in the first place. Good for you!

  2. Anna says:

    I’m in the same boat as you. I would love to simplify and get rid of all of the “things” in our house that we don’t need or use. But I don’t think anyone else in this house is completely on board, haha.

  3. That sounds like a good book. I am thankful that we have been able to keep our volume of toys low. The hard part for me now is that as the big kids get bigger they start to notice and want to hoarde and collect. So now I am trying to teach an appreciation for the simplicity, and also to model it in my own life. (but I need all this yarn!)

    My kids each have one large Rubbermaid box for their things. When something new comes in, it has to fit in the box, so often something old has to go. There are a few exceptions to this, of course, and much of the reason for the system is that we have eight people crammed into one tiny house, but I am happy with the results. 🙂

    All they really need is a box and a yard yo play in anyway, right? 🙂

  4. Darcel says:

    Love the look on her face! I love the idea of simplicity, but actually obtaining it is hard to do. I imagine when we move this Spring we’ll be able to live with less clutter. Something we’re all looking forward to. I like those bins from target. You have me itching to click over to pinterest to add more to my home board.

Leave a Reply

