Yarn Along

Untitled

Wanting to take a break from a more complicated project, I decided to finally use some of my Springtree Road lace and knit a shawl for my eldest daughter. She loves the Little House series and wanted a shawl like Laura or one of her sisters might have worn. I thought this looked like the perfect one. Easy to remember pattern that I can pick up and put down again without fear of losing my row. I brought my copy of Taproot to the beach with me yesterday so that Darcel could check it out, but we barely had time to thumb through it. I’m reading another book on my new phone w/ the kindle app…but I forgot the title! Are you making or reading anything at present?

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in knitting, yarn along and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. a shawl is always a great gift to knit! from the photo the texture of the yarn looks like it would make a wonderful spring shawl.

  2. Shara says:

    the green is beautiful…. Everybody is reading Taproot…might have to order a subscription 🙂

  3. I find that Taproot is best savored over some weeks. It is small but dense with a lot to think about and see. A shawl! What a terrific idea. I’ll have to put this one down for Helena. She loves pashminas and she has it forever wrapped around her head. I think she would like a shawl. Love the pattern and the color you chose. Your girlie has great taste in books!
    xo

  4. Heather says:

    The color you are using is such a gorgeous green. My daughter requested and actually received a handknit shawl last year. She loved it. I think the pattern you are using is perfect since it has long tie-able ends. I am still reading Taproot. I agree with another poster, it needs to be savored.

  5. isaidaveale says:

    I wanted to be just like Laura when I was little too 🙂 The color is great – can’t wait to see her shawl 🙂

  6. Kathleen says:

    Lucky daughter!! I, too, loved the Little House books (and wanted to be costumed from them!) as a kid. 🙂 That shawl pattern is just perfect, and the yarn is gorgeous.

  7. The green yarn is gorgeous!!
    We are also HUGE Little House fans. I just saved that shawl pattern on my Ravelry. May have to make one for both my daughter and myself! 🙂

  8. Darcel says:

    Love that color. I also loved Little House as a kid. You know I need to buy more yarn to make that shawl….right after I finish the hat.

  9. swanski says:

    Gorgeous green yarn you’ve got there 🙂 A shawl will be perfect!

  10. pretty green yarn! and uhm, taproot has been with me to my son’s therapy several times and i’m STILL reading it. it’s best savored slowly 😉

Leave a Reply

