weekending

Finch’s pet betta, Speedy Eiffel Tower, died last week and after his sadness wore off, he decided he would like a new one. The Blues joined our family on Thursday. L was off the entire weekend, a rarity, and so we made the most of it. The kids and I hiked on Friday. We were originally part of a group, but a cranky toddler soon made it necessary to venture out on our own, and honestly, it was more fun that way. We planned a family movie date that night, but nothing appealed at our favorite (super cheap) theater. The beach is always a good backup, right? We followed it up with a trip to Krispy Kreme. Ah, the life.

Untitled

Untitled

Early Saturday, I slipped out the door while L made breakfast in order to go yard saling, and stumbled upon a gem of a sale. A newly retired couple was downsizing before moving. The wife had been an avid sewist, crocheter, and knitter for their only child, a daughter who didn’t want anything to do with her childhood things. My favorite item is a grey bobble crochet cardigan with coral buttons. I also love this smocked pinafore, and snatched up every bonnet they had. I figured they’d get used for dress up play or maybe to give to some vintage loving mamafriends for their baby girls some day. I brought Wren back with me later that day and she scored a girl scout mess kit (she’s camping with her troop soon) and a giant bag full of playfood. My kids love “shopping for vintage”, as they call it.

Untitled

Untitled
The dress underneath the cardigan is also from the sale.

Darcel and I scheduled a trip to the Fiber Fiesta on Saturday, but L decided to take the kids to his mom and dad’s place. I used that time to catch up on schoolwork, watch House Hunters International and fall in and out of a jelly bean induced coma on the couch. Sunday was supposed to be spent tidying up and preparing for back to school. A little of that happened, but DH and I spent a fair amount of time watching movies, too. I also figured out how to delete my personal effbook page while retaining admin status for the pages I maintain. I didn’t spend much time there, but every time I did, I ended up feeling sad or jealous about my perception that every else was having a grand life but me. Comparing their highlight reels to my behind the scenes. So yea, no more effbook. How was your weekend?

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in the great outdoors, thrifted and found, weekending and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to weekending

  1. Anna says:

    I am SO jealous of your yard sale finds! I never find amazing stuff like that.

  2. Darcel says:

    Nice weekend. Love your garage sale finds. Super cute stuff. You have to tell me how you were able to keep your blog page up.

  3. Heather says:

    Love all your finds. They look wonderful modeled. I have effbook too. I still have a page, but never visit. Too much drama. Thanks for the VA park link. We are staying in the area for three months or so and would love recommendations.

Leave a Reply

