Change of plans…


I planned to take the kids to the park on Friday after school, but frankly, I don’t enjoy it. I spend half my time on the playground being a helicopter mom b/c the babe is at the stage where she’ll step off a play bridge unaware of the potential broken bones, when all I want to do is sit down, read, and drink my strawberry limeade. Instead, I convinced the kiddos that new sidewalk chalk, jump ropes, and bubbles right here at home was the way to go. We bought double dutch ropes and I unsuccessfully tried to teach  the neighborkids how to jump double dutch. DH and I stayed up way late and he played video games while I laughed/snorted at my favorite snark sites. I know, we are so exciting. I then overslept resulting in  one of the kiddos missing a Saturday morning class. Oops.


{Like Lark’s dress? I made it for Wren some years ago.}


{Ava is practicing poses for her future career as some type of diva, the other kids are background singers, obviously.}

When I woke up, I saw a text from Darcel asking if we wanted to go to the beach. Dood, is there ever a time I don’t want go to the beach? We pulled up, and as she does any time we arrive somewhere green, Lark instantly assumed that Samuel (Darcel’s baby) would be there, and started calling his name. Adorable.


We were supposed to go to the Kite Festival on Sunday, but the laundry situation was really out of control. So, I Mean Mommed it and the kids spent the morning folding and putting away laundry instead. They survived. And the house no longer looks like a laundromat. Well, downstairs doesn’t, anyway. I continued my stupendous Sunday by taking out Wren’s cornrows. Maintaining her hair could be a full time job, for reals. By the time we were done, it was dark out and we got to see the supermoon which wasn’t visible the night before due to cloudiness. That moon was something out of a Grimm’s fairytale or a vampire movie. Cool, but slightly scary.

Was your weekend equally fabulous? Do tell.

BTW, these are all camera phone pics b/c though I resisted getting a fancier phone, I recently (reluctantly) did, and am now content to use it versus lugging my big camera all the time.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in feasts and festivals, home, kids, mother of the year, mothering, the great outdoors, weekending and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Change of plans…

  1. Heather says:

    Looks like you have a very fun time even if it involved some changes of plans. Love the diva pose.

  2. Anna says:

    I love your park opinion. Yesterday I took the boys and Ash kept asking me to push him on the swing and i said Don’t you know I only like to come to the park when you play and I get to sit here being lazy and read? Haha

  3. Darcel says:

    Love the pics. Samuel is still asking for Lark. I can totally see Ava as a performer of some kind. That moon is huge!

  4. snark sites? oh do share. we love the snark 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekending | trees all dance

Leave a Reply

