Unraveling Summer

easy baby cardigan
I found a few unfinished objects over the weekend while cleaning out my closet. They included this pink sweater I started three years ago, before Lark was born. I decided to unravel them and now the yarn has gone to live in a basket in my closet/craft space/home/school supply space. Un-making these things seems to fall quite neatly in line with the way I feel at this time of year. No matter how warm the day, it’s natural for my mind to drift to the thoughts of crisp breezes and beautifully colored leaves that fall away from the trees. This is my favorite time of year and Autumn will always feel like the start of the New Year, no matter what the calendar says. I was not in a particular hurry to send the kids back to school, but I do enjoy the rhythm that the school year encloses us in. In a few months, this same schedule might feel restrictive and I will probably post some whiny tweet about it, but for now, the breathing room is nice.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in kids, knitting, school, seasons, trees all dance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unraveling Summer

  1. Anna says:

    I feel the same way about fall. And I wish it lasted longer than any other season. And ditto to your thoughts about school too. I look forward to getting back to the routine of the kids in school. But then close to the end of the year I crave the freedom and laziness of the summer.

  2. I love fall and its coziness and newness. It’s like the earth takes a breath after all of the heat. Good to see you around these parts again. I think I am like you; I like seasons in cycles. Luckily there is always a new one around the corner.

  3. Darcel says:

    That’s a pretty pink. I’m also looking forward to fall. Apple cider, carmel apples, sweaters, and boots. Cooler weather and hopefully less bugs!

Leave a Reply

