Martha (Stewart) speaks

On Thursday, I went to Martha Stewart’s American Made event. It was held in the beautiful Vanderbilt Hall at Grand Central Terminal. My main goal was to attend a fantastic panel on which one of my favorite bloggers, Design Mom was speaking. The panel was led by Pilar Guzmán, Editor in Chief of MSL, and formerly of Cookie, and momfilter too.


Me with Gabrielle (Design Mom) who is just and warm and friendly in person as she is on her blog.

Also on the panel were Maxwell from Apartment Therapy and Deb from Smitten Kitchen! I didn’t realize that workshops would still be happening when I arrived, but was thrilled to participate. I did a few cute crafts including making a pom pom keychain and an adorable camp necklace which I will probably give to Wren. While crafting at the tables, I chatted with some of the Crafts Department staff and it was nice to learn how they got their start with Martha and see their enthusiasm for their work.

I walked around a bit afterward, checking out all the beautiful handmade items for sale. A few minutes before the panel started, I went to get checked in and find a seat. Imagine my surprise when in walked Martha Stewart! On top of that, I was this close to her!

Untitled
I only wish I hadn’t been too shy to actually talk to her afterwards.

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in art, craft, design, new york and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Martha (Stewart) speaks

  1. Anna says:

    This is just so awesome. I wish I could’ve gone. No way would I have been brave enough to talk to the Martha Stewart either.

  2. Cath says:

    You got to meet Design Mom! I am fangirling hard over here.

  3. stefanie says:

    That’s amazing!!! I love Design Mom. Totally the best of the mormon mom blogs. Incidentally, I should tell you some time about my nasty interaction with her sister (in law?). Yeesh.

Leave a Reply

