Brooklyn Flea

On Saturday, I finally went to the Brooklyn Flea. I’m embarrassed that it took me so long to go. At first I thought, meh, nothing special, but as I got further into the flea, I found lots of fantastic junk. Everything from vintage gloves and handkerchiefs (I collect them) to enamelware (also collect) and letterpress type. My favorite booth hands down was Christian Rathbone’s. He designs the most beautiful rugs and pillows. Gorgeous items woven by hand in Turkey in a fantastic array of colors. What really drew me in was this display of yarn.

Untitled

I started chatting with Christian and learned that it was hand spun and hand dyed. Sold, and sold. I’m going to make this into something really special for myself.

Untitled

Untitled

I spotted the most adorable cupcakes ever as I was walking to a booth filled with air plants. (I think that was the most hipster sentence I’ve ever written) And when I saw that there were maple bacon ones, I had to stop. *so good*

Untitled

I ran out of cash by the time I got to Bobby Hill Art, but his work, screened prints covered with various paints (acrylic, spray, etc) really intrigued me.

A couple more shots…Untitled

Untitled

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in art, craft, crochet, design, home, knitting, new york and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brooklyn Flea

  1. lejeunesse says:

    oh, that rug. THAT RUG.

Leave a Reply

