State of the Garden, Late October

Squash production has slowed way down, but I still see a lot of fruit on the vines. I hope they will be mature enough to harvest before our first frost. I think the biggest issue is that the vines have grown into shadier parts of my yard and are getting almost no sun at this point.

We’ve had some temperatures dip down in the 40s and that combined with the waning sunlight has led to my tomatoes doing absolutely nothing! It feels like that anyway. I’ve got dozens of tomatoes and none appear to be near ripening. I’ll need to check out green tomato recipes. This looks like a yummy possibility.

Something in the yard loves the kale more than I do and I am not sure if I’ll be able to harvest any. The other vegetables are doing fine even though I planted them too close together. I can’t wait to have some homegrown Brussels Sprouts, especially. I like mine sautéed with a little olive oil, sea salt, some cracked pepper and garlic. Delicious. Compare the pic below to last month!

Do you have a garden? What’s new there?


Mommy, take a picture of me (with these powdery mildewed squash leaves)!

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in garden, seasons, the great outdoors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to State of the Garden, Late October

  1. Anna says:

    My mom could grow anything anywhere but I did not inherit her green thumb. The boys would love a garden and I’d love to start one. Maybe next spring. Yours looks great. I love it.

  2. Maria says:

    Love your blog! Saw a photo with your family standing outside a yurt. Please don’t tell me you live in a yurt . . . that would just be too cool!

Leave a Reply

