My hometown: St. Lucia

Yes, I was born in New York. But I was raised, in part, in St. Lucia. My mom is Lucian and we lived there till I was about 6. I spent every summer after that visiting, until I was a teenager. Sadly, I haven’t been back since my eldest was a babe. I still consider it, along with Brooklyn, home.

birthday
In my grandmother’s garden.

When I was younger, I was inevitably asked where I was from. St. Lucia wasn’t really on the radar then. Sure, it’s filled with beautiful beaches and even a non active volcano you can visit but my world there centered around my grandmother. I believe I’ve mentioned before that she’s always been involved in helping to preserve St. Lucian culture. One of the ways she does this is through her folk dance troupe. My brother and I always accompanied her to rehearsals and even traveled with her to other islands when her dancers performed there. Yes, I know all of the various quadrille dances. My grandmother is also an avid knitter, crocheter, sewist, etc (she was a home ec teacher). The dress in the picture above is her work. The garden is, too. In addition to her many accomplishments, she’s one of the most charitable people I know. I like to think I’m following in her footsteps. I hope I am.

So Fawned 30 Days Hath November
About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in craft, crochet, dance, friends and family, garden, knitting, mother of the year, new york, St. Lucia, trees all dance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My hometown: St. Lucia

  1. Anna says:

    Apparently to both of us hometown is where grandma is. 😉

  2. Pingback: Days 14-16 | trees all dance

Leave a Reply

