Holiday books and music

Untitled

Since becoming a parent, I’ve managed to accumulate a decent collection of holiday books. As happens with things like books and toys, some I sought out, and others were given to us. Here are a few of our favorites:

I grew up exposed to Christmas music, and being an NYC native, also learned Hanukkah songs in school (yep!). Last year, for the first time, I looked for inclusive holiday music since in my immediate family alone, there are people who celebrate Christmas, Solstice, and Hanukkah. The folksy album Sing The Cold Winter Away by Kathy Reid-Naiman fits the bill nicely. It’s my preschooler’s favorite and includes a few fingerplays and rhymes for the season, too. Do you have any favorite holiday books or music?

Chanukah

About treesalldance

Blerd by the beach with a tiny garden, a bunch of kids, and a sense of humor.
This entry was posted in books, feasts and festivals, friends and family, holiday, music, seasons, waldorf inspired and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday books and music

  1. I lurve lurve lurve holiday music and books. I start playing Christmas music the day after Thanksgiving! Some of my favorite holiday books are the holiday parts of Little House on the Prairie series, Cranberry Christmas, Santa Mouse, A Child is Born and new one I just bought by Truman Capote (A Christmas Memory).

Leave a Reply

